School navigation

Demo Navigation

News

Read more of our stories by clicking on the links below.

  • Kasi Allen
    Associate Professor of Education, Program Director
    M.A.T. Middle Level/High School Program (Math)
    kasi@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 415

    Middle-level/high school mathematics, reform in K-12 mathematics education, gender issues in mathematics education, implementation of innovative K-12 mathematics curricula, communication in the middle-level/high school mathematics classroom

  • Rick Berman
    Instructor and Coordinator of Problem Gambling Services
    Professional Mental Health Counseling—Addictions
    eberman@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 422

    Problem gambling, substance use disorders, co-occurring mental health and addictive disorders, trauma recovery, feedback-informed treatment, program development

  • Janet Bixby
    Associate Dean/Associate Professor
    bixby@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 211

    Civic engagement of youth, teaching history, teaching social studies, equitable practices

  • Kenneth Brinson, Jnr.
    Assistant Professor
    Educational Administration
    kbrinson@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 306

    Educational Administration Preparation, Practicum/Internship Activities, Case Study Research, Dissertation/Thesis Writing, Invitational Education

  • Kimberly Campbell
    Associate Professor, Chair of Teacher Education
    M.A.T. Middle Level/High School Program (Language Arts)
    kimberly@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 406

    Middle and high school language arts, development of knowledge for new teachers, using teacher research to support knowledge development in new teachers, teaching middle and high school literature

  • Sherri Carreker
    Chair, Educational Leadership Department; Director, Center for Community Engagement; Instructor
    carreker@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 106
  • Jeffrey Christensen
    Assistant Professor
    Professional Mental Health Counseling
    jchristensen@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 329

    Substance Abuse/Dependence, Suicide, At-Risk Youth, Supervision (Practicum/Internship), Counseling Student Retention Policies/Evaluation

  • Instructor and Director of the Oregon Writing Project
    lmc@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 106
  • Mary Clare
    Professor
    School Psychology
    clare@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 401

    Consultation, clinical work with diverse populations, school psychology, contemporary Native American life, responsive assessment, resilience in cases of social marginalization

  • Jennifer de Saxe
    Assistant Professor
    jenniferdesaxe@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 407

    Democracy in education, teacher education and critical self reflexivity, critical feminism in education, and foundations in education

  • Elena Diamond
    Assistant Professor
    School Psychology
    ediamond@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 329

    School Readiness, Early Intervention, Academic Achievement, Consultation 

  • Thomas Doherty
    Program Coordinator, Instructor
    Ecopsychology Certificate
    tdoherty@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 409

    Ecopsychology, Conservation Psychology, Environmental Psychology, Climate Change and Mental Health, Nature-based (Eco)therapy and Wilderness Therapy, Professional Counseling & Psychotherapy, Organizational Consulting, Group Facilitation, Business Skills for Mental Health Professionals

  • Carol Doyle
    Associate Professor
    Professional Mental Health Counseling
    cdoyle@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 317

    Research Methods & Statistics, Gay & Lesbian Identity Development, Sexual Minority Issues in Counseling

  • Alejandra Favela
    Associate Professor
    ESOL/Bilingual Endorsement
    afavela@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 431

    Culturally and Linguistically Responsive Pedagogy

  • Sue Feldman
    Assistant Professor
    Doctor of Education in Leadership
    feldmans@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 302

    Interactional Analysis, Learning-Focused Leadership, Poverty Policy and Education, School Leaders’ Data Practices, Collaborative Teacher-Principal Evaluation, Practitioner-Researcher Partnerships

  • Mark Figueroa
    Assistant Professor; Associate Provost for Institutional Research and Planning
    Student Affairs Administration
    figueroa@lclark.edu
    Frank Manor House

    Institutional research, strategic planning, equity and diversity, student access and success, quantitative and qualitative research methods, program evaluation and assessment

  • Liza Finkel
    Associate Professor
    M.A.T. Preservice Middle-Level/High School Program (Science)
    lfinkel@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 421

    Science Education, Teacher Education, Democratic Education, Secondary Education, Public School Reform, Science Teaching

  • Scott Fletcher
    Dean and Professor
    graddean@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 206A

    Philosophy of Education, Curriculum Theory, Teacher Preparation, and Environmental Education

  • Mollie Galloway
    Assistant Professor
    Doctor of Education in Leadership
    galloway@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 310

    Applied Research Methods, Leadership for Equity and Social Justice, Construction of Privilege in Schools, Human Development

  • Anna Gonzalez
    Assistant Professor; Dean of Student Life
    Student Affairs Administration
    annag@lclark.edu
    East Residence Hall

    Policy Development and Implementation; Strategic Planning; Diversity Education; Conflict Mediation and Crisis Intervention; Student Organization Advising; Campus-wide Program Development; Recruitment, Selection, and Supervision; Personal and Career Choice Counseling; Curriculum Development; Student Conduct; Budget and Resource Management; Fundraising and Parent & Alumni Development

  • Linda Griffin
    Assistant Professor, Program Director
    M.A.T. Preservice Early Childhood/Elementary Program
    lgriffin@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 411

    K-12 Mathematics, Reform in K-12 Mathematics Education, Equity in Mathematics Education, Learning Progressions in Mathematics, Early Childhood Mathematics, English Language Learners and Mathematics

  • Heather Hadraba
    Assistant Professor
    School Counseling, Program Director
    hadraba@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 311

    Motivational Interviewing, Group counseling, Multiple baseline study within schools, College and career readiness for K-12 students

  • Pilar Hernandez-Wolfe
    Associate Professor
    Marriage, Couple, and Family Therapy
    pilarhw@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 331

    Traumatic Stress, Resilience, Vicarious Resilience, Human Rights, Decolonization, Family Therapy Supervision, Social Justice and Family Therapy, Clinical Supervision, Domestic Violence, animal-human bond and counseling,

  • Stella Beatríz Kerl-McClain
    Associate Professor
    Professional Mental Health Counseling
    sbk@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 328

    Families, Couples and Individual Therapies; Diagnosis and Treatment of College Students, Children, Adolescents, Community Women, Couples and Families, and People with Chronic Mental Illness

  • Carmen Knudson-Martin
    Professor
    Marriage, Couple, and Family Therapy
    carmen@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 319

    Gender, race, and class in family therapy; sociocultural dynamics in family therapy; feminist perspectives in family therapy; family systems; family therapy assessment; couples and sex therapy

  • Jerry Kuykendall
    Instructor
    M.A.T. Middle Level/High School Program (Sciences)
    jerryk@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 423

    Middle-Level/High School Science, Middle School Science, Science Curriculum, Earth Sciences

  • Bill Layton
    Instructor
    School Counseling
    layton@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 207

    Child Development Specialist, Career Development and Consultation, Academic Development and Consultation, Internship, Ethical and Legal Issues

  • Matthew Lovell
    Instructor/Clinical Coordinator
    Marriage, Couple and Family Therapy
    mlovell@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall Rogers Hall 327

    Adolescent Development, Group Therapy, Family Therapy, Couples Therapy, Trauma, Clinical Supervision

  • Teresa McDowell
    Professor and Department Chair
    Marriage, Couple, and Family Therapy
    teresamc@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 313

    Marriage and Family Therapy and MFT education, Critical social theory in the practice of family therapy, Internationalizing family therapy, Certified Problem Gambling Counselor, AAMFT Approved Supervisor

  • Dawn Montgomery
    Assistant Professor
    Educational Administration
    dawnm@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 304

    Advisor for Initial Administrator Licensure students in the Portland Metro area, advisor for all M.Ed. students, and coordinator for all regional programs. Equity and Social Justice (Uniting to Understand Racism trainer), Secondary School Reform, Professional Learning Communities, Leadership Development, Courage and Renewal Facilitator

  • Peter Mortola
    Professor
    School Psychology
    pmortola@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 323

    Lifespan Development, Group Counseling with Children, Social & Emotional Assessment of Children, Developmentally Appropriate Methods of Counseling Children

  • Laura Pedersen
    Associate Professor
    School Counseling
    laura@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 309

    Professional Identity Formation, Transitioning from the Classroom to the School Community, Innovative Ways of Teaching a Transformed Model of School Counseling, Program Development, Supervision of School Counselor Candidates

  • Boyd Pidcock
    Associate Professor
    Professional Mental Health Counseling—Addictions
    pidcock@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 330

    Chemical Dependency Research, Addictions Treatment Evaluation, Addiction Studies, Adult Mental Health

  • Amy Rees-Turyn
    Associate Professor
    Professional Mental Health Counseling
    arees@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 333

    Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgendered Issues; Feminist Therapies; Counselor Supervision; Ecosystemic Child/Adolescent Treatment

  • Alicia Roberts Frank
    Assistant Professor
    Special Education
    aliciarobertsfrank@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 405

    Special Education, Dyslexia and other Reading Disabilities, Inclusive Schools & Communities, Learning Communities, Collaboration, Cooperative Learning

  • Ruth Shagoury
    Mary Stuart Rogers Professor of Education
    Language and Literacy Program
    shagoury@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 427

    Teaching for Justice & Equity, Second Language Literacy, Teacher-research, New Teacher Support, Writing & Reading across the Curriclum, Art-literacy Connections

  • Tod Sloan
    Professor
    Professional Mental Health Counseling; Ecopsychology
    sloan@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 433

    Lifespan Development, Critical Psychology, Social Theory, Global Community Psychology, Dialogue Practices for Deep Democracy

  • Greg Smith
    Professor
    M.A.T. Preservice Early Childhood/Elementary Program
    gasmith@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 426

    Literacy & Learning, Sustainability, Environmental/Ecological Education, Place-Based Education, Alternative & Small Schools, Environmental/Ecological Education

  • Kim Stafford
    Associate Professor and Director
    Northwest Writing Institute
    krs@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 424

    The Practice of Creative Writing, Teaching Writing, Ethnography of One’s Own Culture, Writing & Teaching Writing, The Poetry of William Stafford, The Literary Center as a Resource for Cultural Change, Peace-Making

  • Danielle Torres
    Associate Professor
    School Counseling
    dtorres@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 307

    Development of the Learner; Research, Assessment, & Technology; Social Justice & Diversity; Internship; Meeting Counseling Needs of Diverse Populations in Schools; Increasing Academic Resiliency; Strengthening the Home-school Connection; Career Development Issues for Students

  • Eric Toshalis
    Assistant Professor
    M.A.T. Middle Level/High School Program
    etoshalis@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 419

    Adolescent Development, Classroom Management & School Discipline, Teacher Education & Induction, Culturally Responsive Pedagogies, Anti-Oppressive Pedagogies, Critical Ethnography

  • David Ward
    Assistant Professor
    M.A.T. Preservice Early Childhood/Elementary Program
    davidward@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 413

    Literacy, Elementary Education, Children’s Literature, Reading and Writing, Connections, the Arts in Education, New Literacies

  • Dyan Watson
    Assistant Professor
    M.A.T. Middle Level/High School Program (Social Studies)
    watson@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 408

    Qualitative research methods, race and teaching, equity and social justice, teacher research.

  • Marisol Westberg
    Assistant Professor
    Marriage, Couple, and Family Therapy
    mgarcia@lclark.edu
    Rogers Hall 327

    Sexuality, Pleasure, Marginalization, Positive Therapy