Faculty Council Meeting Minutes November 17, 2010

Present: Jane Hunter, Interim Dean of the College; Gary Reiness, Associate Dean of the College; Ken Clifton, associate professor of biology; Janet Davidson, associate professor of psychology; Rob Kugler, Paul S. Wright Professor of Christian Studies; Jim Proctor, professor of environmental studies; and Terri Banasek, executive assistant and recorder.

Agenda Items:

- 1. The minutes of November 8, 2010, were approved.
- 2. Sabbaticals: Interim Dean Hunter and Associate Dean Reiness will work on the replacement plans; Faculty Council was asked to weigh in on the merits.
 - a. Katja Altpeter-Jones (full year) approved.
 - b. Linda Angst (full year) tabled pending successful tenure review.
 - c. Ben David (full year) approved.
 - d. Jim Grant (full year) approved.
 - e. Maureen Healy (full year) approved.
 - f. Jennifer Hubbert (full year, outside funding pending) approved.
 - g. Todd Lochner (full year) approved.
 - h. Bruce Podobnik (fall 2011) approved.
 - i. Liz Stanhope (full year), applying one year early due to departmental staffing tabled pending successful tenure review.
 - j. Bruce Suttmeier (full year, dependent upon funding) approved.
 - k. Mary Szybist (full year) approved.
 - 1. Ted Vogel (full year) approved.
 - m. Elliott Young (full year) approved.
- 3. Faculty Council reviewed the Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow proposals. All three proposals were approved by Faculty Council.
- 4. Faculty Council reviewed a late capital equipment request from the psychology department.
- 5. Faculty Council approved a \$270 Distinguished Speaker Proposal from Heather Smith.
- 6. Faculty Council reviewed the nominations for the 2010 David Savage Award.

7. The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

Next meeting: Wednesday, December 8, 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.