Albany Quadrangle in 1955
June 16, 2003
Faculty and students congregate in the sunny courtyard of Albany Quadrangle in 1955. In this issue of The Chronicle, see how the College has revitalized this historic building at the center of campus.
Built in 1929 as part of the original Fir Acres Estate, Albany Quadrangle has served many purposes over the years: garage and greenhouse, chapel and library, office building and classroom complex.
This spring, as the result of a stunning renovation and expansion project, Albany Quadrangle stands as the functional and symbolic heart of the academic campus. It currently houses the permanent offices of the Dean of the College and Overseas and Off-Campus Programs. Over time, it will become the centralized location for a variety of academic support services, such as the Registrar, Academic Advising, the Writing Center, and the Math Skills Center. It will also be a key venue for public programs in commemoration of the Lewis and Clark Expedition Bicentennial.