School navigation


Alumni honored for literary accomplishments

February 04, 2013

  • Corey Van Landingham B.A. ’08

Corey Van Landingham BA ’08 has been selected as this year’s winner of the Charles B. Wheeler Prize for her poetry collection, Antidote. The Ohio State University Press will publish Antidote in November 2013. Van Landingham has also received a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University.

Van Landingham recently completed her MFA at Purdue University, where she was a poetry editor for Sycamore Review. She is the recipient of a 2012 AWP Intro Journals Award, as well as scholarships from the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference. Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in AGNI, Best New Poets 2012, Blackbird, Colorado Review, Crazyhorse, Indiana Review, Kenyon Review, The Southern Review, and Third Coast. Read an interview with Corey Van Landingham on the Collagist.

The Journal, the literary magazine of Ohio State, selects one full-length manuscript of poetry each year for publication by the Ohio State University Press. In addition to publication under a standard book contract, the winning author receives the Charles B. Wheeler prize of $3,000.

Like Van Landingham, other recent Lewis & Clark graduates are receiving recognition for their creative writing accomplishments:

  • Kenzie Rowlett BA ’12 was one of only 10 poets nationwide invited to attend the Bucknell Seminar for Younger Poets.
  • Rosalie Moffett BA ’08 won the Discovery Poetry Contest sponsored by the Boston Review and the 92nd Street Y Unterberg Poetry Center. Moffett is also the recipient of a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University.
  • Laurel Nakanishi BA ’06 was awarded a Fulbright scholarship to create a writers’ center in Nicaragua.
  • Mark Rockswold BA ’06 cofounded the new SpringGun Press.
  • Nick Lantz BA ’03 won the 2011 Great Lakes College Association’s Emerging Writers Award and is completing a reading tour.


Contact Us