School navigation

National Debate Champions

May 29, 2014

In March, 56 of the nation’s best parliamentary debate teams arrived in Flagstaff, Arizona, for the National Parliamentary Tournament of Excellence (NPTE), but only one team left as national champions—Lewis & Clark’s McKay Campbell CAS ’14 and Emily Halter CAS ’14.

Campbell and Halter defeated Whitman College in the final debate to claim the championship. It is the first time that the Pioneers have won the NPTE title, and the first national championship for the forensics team since 2005. Also recognized at the tournament were the Lewis & Clark team of Emily Tribble ’15 and Brigitte Tripp ’16, who finished at No. 25.

“This is the ultimate accomplishment for any parliamentary debate team—to take on a field of 56 of the best teams in the nation and come out victorious,” Gantt says. “Every member of the Pioneer community has reason to be proud of this team and their efforts.”

McKay Campbell CAS ’14 and Emily Halter CAS ’14McKay Campbell CAS ’14 and Emily Halter CAS ’14

Share this story on

The Chronicle Magazine

Contact Us