School navigation


National Science Foundation awards fellowships to young alumni

April 03, 2015

This week the National Science Foundation announced that five Lewis & Clark alumni were awarded Graduate Research Fellowships based on their demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science and engineering.

The NSF fellowships provide students with three years of support for graduate studies. Lewis & Clark’s fellowship winners are:

  • Julia Cosgrove B.A. ’13 (biology) will continue her life sciences studies in systematics and biodiversity at Harvard University.
  • Brendan Larsen B.A. ’09 (biology) will advance his work in evolutionary biology at the University of Arizona.
  • Megan Mills-Novoa B.A. ’09 (environmental studies) will pursue her geography research at the University of Arizona. Megan was also a Fulbright Scholar in Chile and holds the distinction of being the first Lewis & Clark graduate to be named a Luce Scholar.
  • Emily Nguyen B.A. ’11 (environmental studies) will pursue her graduate studies in cultural anthropology at Yale University. Emily was also a Fulbright Scholar in Vietnam.
  • Sarah Sandholtz B.A. ’13 (chemistry and mathematics) will work toward an advanced degree in chemistry in structure, dynamics, and mechanism at Stanford University.   

The NSF reports that less than one in eight applicants receives a fellowship.

The NSF also announced that five Lewis & Clark graduates earned honorable mentions: Katherine Dahlhausen B.A. ’11, Alaina Green B.A. ’13, Kristine Lyon B.A. ’12, Laura Thomas B.A. ’11, and Travis Walton B.A. ’10.

And Lewis & Clark students Julian Harris CAS ’15 and Kristina Dill CAS ’15 recently received honorable mentions for this year’s Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, widely considered the preeminent award for undergraduates preparing for careers in the sciences. In the last 10 years, Lewis & Clark has had more Goldwater Scholars than any other Oregon college or university.

More student awards Academics


Contact Us