School navigation

The Source

Selecting Our Next President

March 20, 2017

Dear Members of the Lewis & Clark Community,

We are pleased to share that the search for Lewis & Clark’s next president is underway, and we invite your participation in the process.

We have formed a search committee–comprised of trustees and representatives of the on-campus community–and productive meetings are underway. A job description and list of the characteristics of successful candidates have been created, and members of the committee have been providing the names of prospects from higher education, as well as some nontraditional candidates.

If you should have a highly qualified candidate in mind, someone who might be well poised to lead us into the next phase of our history, please contact your representative on the search committee. As the multi-step search gains momentum, we will update the community at moments of key progress.

In the meantime, we have the utmost confidence in the leadership of Interim President David Ellis and thank him for stepping into that role.


Jon Jaqua BS ’70, trustee and co-chair of search committee
Jay Waldron, trustee and co-chair of search committee 

Presidential Search Committee


Jon Jaqua BS ’70, Owner and Manager of McKenzie Oaks Ranch and Owner and Partner, Metal Products Company
Jay Waldron, Attorney at Law, Schwabe, Williamson and Wyatt


Life Trustee and Former Board Chair
Ronald Ragen, Attorney at Law (retired), Davis Wright Tremaine

Stephanie Fowler MA ’97, Civic Affairs
Jouni Korhonen BA ’82, Heads Enterprise Risk Management, Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco
Libby McCaslin JD ’87, Civic Affairs
Patrick Nielson BA ’71, Business Advisor and Consultant, The Law Office of Patrick A. Nielson, PC
Mark Tratos JD ’79, Attorney at Law, Managing Shareholder, Greenberg, Traurig

Faculty Representatives
Cliff Bekar, College of Arts and Sciences, Associate Professor of Economics and Department Chair
Mollie Galloway, Graduate School of Education and Counseling, Associate Professor and Chair of Educational Leadership
John Parry, Law School, Associate Dean of Faculty and Edward Brunet Professor of Law

Staff Representative
Janet W. Steverson, Dean of Diversity and Inclusion and Douglas K. Newell Professor of Law 

Student Representative
Tiffany Farmer CAS ’18, Biology Major, Neuroscience Minor