School navigation

The Source

Liz Safran Named Lewis & Clark Teacher of the Year

April 24, 2017

On April 19, students named Liz Safran, associate professor of geological science and director of environmental studies, Lewis & Clark teacher of the year.

A geomorphologist, Safran joined the faculty at Lewis & Clark in 2000. She holds a PhD from the University of California at Santa Barbara, an M.S from the University of Washington, and a BA from Harvard University.

Watch the award ceremony in this short video:

Other finalists this year were Eleonora (Nora) Beck, James W. Rogers professor of music and director of musicology; Gordon Kelly, associate professor with term and director of classical studies; Molly Robinson Kelly, associate professor of French and department chair; Sweta Suryanarayan, visiting assistant professor of mathematics; and Tamily Weissman-Unni, assistant professor of biology and program director of neuroscience.

The Teacher of the Year award has been bestowed on faculty by the undergraduate student body since 1993. The award process is student driven. Each year, the Pamplin Society asks all Lewis & Clark students to submit nominations. A selection committee chooses several finalists and then requests additional student input. After debate and deliberation, the committee selects a winner.