Don’t Lose Data During Spring Cleaning
In the past, L&C has suspended Google accounts for former students and employees, rather than delete them, because Google offered unlimited storage and this practice allowed access to shared files owned by suspended users. This practice is no longer tenable given Google’s recent announcement that all educational institutions will be limited to 100 TB of pooled storage beginning in the summer of 2022. Deleting suspended user accounts in a thoughtful and strategic manner should significantly reduce overall storage.
If you have used Google Drive to collaborate with students no longer with the college, it is possible these suspended user accounts may own items that will be lost when first-year alum accounts are deleted annually. We’ve created a helpsheet walking users through how to determine which, if any, files you can access are owned by another account.
If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to email@example.com.