Nicola Austin

UWC attended: Waterford Kamhlaba United World College of Southern Africa (Swaziland)
Class Year: Class of 2020

I was born in South Africa and for the first six years of my life I lived on a farm near Grahamstown, a small town in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. In 2004 my parents, twin brothers and I moved to Kampala, the capital city of Uganda and lived there for 5 years. We then moved to Tanzania for 3 years where I competed in swimming competitions all over the country which allowed me to visit many different cities in Tanzania. I found it amazing to see the different areas. After living in Tanzania, we moved to Swaziland and I have been living here for 5 years. I went to the UWC in Swaziland for 4 years and loved the whole experience, from meeting new people from all over the world to hiking up the mountain to admire the view. As well as the countries that I have lived in I was also lucky enough to visit France, Mozambique, Switzerland and Rwanda over the years and slowly I grew to love travelling, whether it was a day trip or a longer trip. I loved every second of seeing the new places and doing new things and so now I take every opportunity I can to travel through Swaziland and South Africa to see the different towns and cities.

I think my love of travelling made Lewis & Clark one of my first choices because of its location and its proximity to so much. I feel as though it allows for many different activities and adventures. I hope to be able to explore the Pacific Northwest during vacations and do activities like snowboarding, kayaking and surfing- none of which I’ve done before. Some of my other interests are playing soccer, swimming and playing the piano- all of which I hope to continue at L&C.

My academic interests include economics, psychology and physics. I plan to major in Economics as I have thoroughly enjoyed studying it ever since I started taking economics in the International Baccalaureate program. I found it fascinating and after completing my extended essay in economics, I was fully convinced I wanted to continue studying it.

In the four years that I spend at Lewis & Clark, I want to do as many things as I can. I’d like to do activities and subjects I’ve never done before and walk out with a degree in Economics and feel more well-rounded having taken part in as much as I could and having done things out of my comfort zone.