School navigation

Content tagged with "Winter-2015"


  • With the success of the alumni oral history project in spring 2014 came a question: How would the oral history component of Historical Materials be taught in the fall?

    With the new semester came a change in course leadership. Maureen Healy, associate professor of history, would now take a turn at the helm.

    “I had a conversation with Jane Hunter as I was preparing to teach the class,” says Healy. “She said, ‘Why not continue with faculty emeriti?’ It seemed like a natural extension of the project.”

    This year’s student training workshops were led by Joanne Mulcahy, who teaches creative nonfiction, ethnographic writing, and humanities core courses for the Northwest Writing Institute, which is part of the Graduate School of Education and Counseling. “Joanne provided the humanist angle to this kind of work—the importance of getting a sense of the person and their life,” says Healy. “Her presentation was very meaningful to students.”

    The alumni office provided a list of local faculty emeriti, and Healy’s class of 15 students set to work. At the time of this writing, the class is still in progress. But we know this much: “Students are challenged by it,” Healy reports.

    Healy is impressed by the project because it helps Lewis & Clark “commemorate community.” She notes that there are not many projects that involve so many different areas of the college in such a meaningful way.

    What’s next on the horizon? Perhaps a mix of faculty emeriti and alumni oral histories. No matter what the format, Healy is confident the oral history component will continue to be popular. “Students are learning to consider living people as historical actors in their own right,” says Healy. “They are learning how modern history can be.”

  • In fall 2008, the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching named Jerusha Detweiler-Bedell, associate professor of psychology, Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor of the Year.

    The CASE/Carnegie prize is the only national award for excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring. Each year, the organization selects a Professor of the Year in each of four categories: baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral institutions, as well as community colleges.

    Criteria for the awards include involvement with undergraduate students; a scholarly approach to teaching; contributions to the institution, community, and profession; and the support of colleagues and students. Professors must be nominated by colleagues or administrators at their home institutions and submit several letters of support, including student recommendations. Award winners are honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

    In her acceptance speech, Detweiler-Bedell said her goal in the classroom is to “transform each of my students from bystander to participant to collaborator, leading them not to just observe, but to engage–and not to just engage but to create.”

    The CASE/Carnegie Professors of the Year were honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., in November. Above: Tom Krattenmaker, associate vice president for public affairs and communications; Jane Atkinson, vice president and provost; Mary Elizabeth Drabkin BA ‘53; Jane Hunter, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Shannon Brady BA ‘06, Julio de Paula, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Jerusha Detweiler-Bedell, associate professor of psychology; Brian Detweiler-Bedell, associate professor of psychology; Abigail Hazlett BA ‘05; Tom Hochstettler, president; and Marcia Glas.



Share this story on