School navigation


Professors honored at Oregon Book Awards

March 18, 2014

  • Photo credit: Joni Kabana

Mary Szybist, associate professor of English, is the winner of a 2014 Oregon Book Award, taking home the Stafford/Hall Award for Poetry for her latest collection, Incarnadine.

In November, Szybist received the 2013 National Book Award for Poetry, exactly 50 years after William Stafford, who also taught at the college, won the same honor for Traveling Through the Dark. In 2005, Professor Emeritus Vern Rutsala was a finalist for his collection The Moment’s Equation.

Rutsala was also honored at the 2014 Oregon Book Awards, receiving the C.E.S. Wood Distinguished Writer Award in recognition of an enduring, substantial literary career. Vince and Patty Wixon, longtime friends of Lewis & Clark, received the Stewart H. Holbrook Literary Legacy Award in recognition of their significant contributions that have enriched Oregon’s literary community. Additionally, Associate Professor Kim Stafford was a finalist for the Sarah Winnemucca Award for Creative Nonfiction with his memoir 100 Tricks Every Boy Can Do.

Oregon Book Awards English Department


Contact Us