School navigation

The Source

Fifty Five Staff Honored for Service to Lewis & Clark

February 06, 2017

  • Photo includes some of the employees honored with 20 or more years of service. From left to right: Doug Erickson, David Shratter, Joe Yuska, Bess Austin, Gail Sullivan, Julie Couch, Richard Austin.

This year’s staff recognition lunch was held on Friday, January 20, and honored 55 staff members for their years of service and dedication to Lewis & Clark.

Director of Student Health Service Bess Austin celebrated 35 years of caring for our students–from burning off warts to coordinating our vaccination clinics to comforting parents, assuring them that their students are in excellent hands.

Director of College Outdoors Joe Yuska celebrated 30 years and was honored for expanding the education offerings of College Outdoors, creating scholarships, and inspiring a passion for outdoors with programs that focus on sustaining our natural environment.

The staff recognition luncheon celebrates each fifth anniversary of service to Lewis & Clark. Congratulations to following honorees:

One honored for 35 years of service: Bess Austin, director, Student Health Service.

One honored for 30 years of service: Joe Yuska, director, College Outdoors.

Two honored for 25 years of service: Doug Erickson, senior advisor, Watzek Library; and David Shratter,  assistant supervisor of circulation, Watzek Library.

Four honored for 20 years of service: Richard Austin, lead painter, Facilities Services; Tina Blackwell, executive assistant, Office of the President; Julie Couch, officer, Campus Safety; and Gail Sullivan, assistant director, Student and Departmental Account Services.

Ten honored for 15 years of service: Kerry Barnes, account specialist, Student and Departmental Account Services; Joe Becker, executive director, Public Affairs and Communications; Rebecca Brooks, assistant director, Student Support Services; Sara V. Chambers, switchboard operator, Law Business Services; Mark Dahl, Director, Watzek Library; Wendy Hitchcock, assistant director for public services, Boley Law Library; Andy Marion, legal specialist III, Dean of Law Faculty; Sherron Stonecypher, Director, Campus Conferences and Events; Bruce Suttmeier, associate dean for faculty development, Office the CAS Dean; and Beth Trubits, laboratory technologist, Student Health Service.

Eleven honored for 10 years of service: Jon Evart, controls engineer, Facilities Services; Erik Fast, director, Corporate Foundation Relations; Becky Haas, director, Graduate School Admissions; Kristin Hutson, administrative specialist, Campus Living; Lynn Jensen, departmental specialist, Office of Financial Aid; Michelle Kirton, associate director, Counseling Center; Kaitlin Lemon, administrative specialist and CAS advisor, Academic Advising; Linda Lopeman, events coordinator, Law School; Timothy O’Dwyer, director, Campus Safety; Thomas Stephenson, senior systems administrator, Information Technology; and Carl Vance, chief investment officer, Financial Division.

Twenty six honored for 5 years of service: David Andrews, head men and women’s golf coach and instructor, Physical Education and Athletics; Julio Appling, educational technology specialist, Information Technology; Casey Barnes, general maintenance and events preparation, Facilities Services; Margot Black, director, Symbolic and Quantitative Resource Center; Lucy Brehm, assistant director, Law School; David Burgess, maintenance engineer II, Facilities Services; Kevin Cassidy, staff attorney, Earthrise Law Center; Eileen Dowty, associate director, Student Support Services; Patrick Dreves, head men’s and women’s tennis, coach and instructor, Physical Education and Athletics; Hollie Elliott, assistant dean, CAS Admissions; Mark Figueroa, associate provost, Institutional Research and Planning; Bridget Flaherty, associate director, International Student Services; Chloe Flora, groundskeeper, Facilities Services; Michel George, associate vice president, Facilities Services; Krista Grable, transfer application processor, Law Admissions; Ashton Hull, costume shop manager, Theatre; Robin Jarecki, associate registrar, CAS Registrar’s Office; Donna Kerr, administrative coordinator, Facilities Services; Tara McIrvin, associate director, Alumni and Parent Programs; Lisa Meyer, dean for enrollment and communications, CAS Admissions; Bobbi Mihara, staff psychologist, Counseling Center; Kelsey Neussl, assistant director, Office of Financial Aid; Nina Olken, associate director, Career Center; Michelle Pennock, administrative coordinator, Watzek Library; Angela Torretta, associate director of annual giving, Institutional Advancement; and Dawn Wilson, administrative specialist, CAS Core Curriculum.