School navigation

International Students and Scholars

Mary Dimond Scholarship

The Mary Dimond Scholarship was established in honor of Ms. Mary Berthina Brooks Dimond who served as Foreign Student Advisor at Lewis & Clark from 1966 until her retirement in 1980. In 1982 the College chose to honor Mrs. Dimond’s long-time service and many contributions to international education by establishing a scholarship for international students in Mrs. Dimond’s name.

The criteria for the scholarship are based on the same qualities that Mrs. Dimond set as an example in her own life and work: excellent scholarship, a well-rounded personality, a special commitment to community service, and involvement in campus activities and organizations.

Initial contributions to the scholarship came from family, colleagues, and friends of Mrs. Dimond. A number of Friendship Families, a program that Mrs. Dimond established, also contributed. For many years following her retirement, Mrs. Dimond served on the selection committee for the scholarship. She continued to make contributions to the College and to international education until her death on April 18, 2006.


Only selected international students are invited to apply for the Mary Dimond Scholarship. The selection process occurs in the fall semester for the following academic year. To qualify for an invitation, students must: (1) have earned between 29 and 93 semester hours. (2) currently receive need-based financial aid from Lewis & Clark; (3) plan to enroll for both semesters of the next academic year; and (4) have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher. The amount of the scholarship award varies according to market conditions, but in recent years it has been approximately $4,000.


Applications will be sent in October to eligible students.

 Contribute to the Scholarship

 Give Now


Mary Dimond Scholarship Winners
Name Country Year
Sonali Gunasekera Sri Lanka 85-86
Joy Assefa Ethiopia 86-87
Peter Andrews Australia 87-88
Carol Thong Indonesia 88-89
Fakrudeen Husein Sri Lanka 89-90
Fatub Al-Jallad Syria 90-91
Siew Mei-ho Malaysia 91-92
Nalin De Mel Sri Lanka 91-92
Nalin De Mel (repeat winner) Sri Lanka 91-92
Shazeb Jillani Pakistan 92-93
Akane Suzuki Japan 93-94
Imran Bhuduri Bangladesh 94-95
Luisa Quinoy Spain 95-96
Petar Obradovic Croatia 95-96
Carsten Schlichting Germany 96-97
Dhruv Dayal India 97-98
Elena Khorganova Russia 98-99
Viktoria Salnikova Russia 99-00
Moe Uema Japan 00-01
Tea Franich Croatia 00-01
Patricia Lee Philippines 01-02
Cathrine Magelssen Norway 02-03
Usman Ally Pakistan 03-04
Makoto Uchiyama Japan 03-04
Dmitri Gurkins Latvia 04-05
Boris Todorov Bulgaria 05-06
Joseph Bae Korea 06-07
Ching Li Chan Singapore 07-08
Rebecca Stuart Jamaica 08-09
Mahmood Khan Afghanistan 09-10
Yu Zheng China 10-11
Neha Kumthekar India 11-12
Lin Jiang China 12-13
Minjia (Jasmine) Yan China 13-14
Yu-Tzu (Grace) Huang Taiwan 14-15
Helena Lam Macau 15-16
Qianli (Lionel) Miao China 16-17
Nhi Ho Vietnam 17-18
Irina Angelova Bulgaria 18-19
Macarena Vives Spain 19-20